Sharpes of Nottingham

Our Safety & Maintenance

Our Safety


At Sharpes of Nottingham we operate a fleet of corporate, executive and standard coaches / buses. All our vehicles are maintained to the highest standards to ensure we deliver a first class service to our customers

Our Maintenance

We operate a fleet of 45 vehicles, which range from service to private hire/tour vehicles, all maintained to the highest standards. Each vehicle is inspected on a 6 weekly basis,as advised by the Vehicle and Operator Services Agency, V.O.S.A. Our high maintenance standards ensure that we achieve the required levels of passenger safety and comfort.

Our vehicles are serviced every six months, all maintenance from part to full services are carried out in house. This includes, electrical faults through to major engine overhauls. All work is carried out by our highly skilled staff, which includes the fleet Manager with more than 15 year’s experience, and a body repair technician with over 20 year’s experience.

Operator Compliance Risk Score (OCRS)

DVSA uses the operator compliance risk score (OCRS) to decide which vehicles to inspect. The higher the risk score, the more likely it is a vehicle will be inspected.

OCRS is used to calculate the risk of an operator not following the rules on roadworthiness (the condition of its vehicles) and traffic, eg drivers’ hours, weighing checks.

How the (OCRS) System Works

The Operator Compliance Risk Score (OCRS) system is based on data collected by DVSA over a 3-year rolling period. Data is taken from annual tests, roadside inspections and inspections at operators’ premises.

OCRS scores are split into 2 categories, and a combined score.

The Categories are ; 

  • Roadworthiness
  • Traffic

Where the data comes from ;

Vehicle tests (first tests, subsequent annual tests); ‘vehicle encounters’ (fleet check inspections at operator premises, roadside inspections)
Roadside inspections and prosecutions (for example, for drivers’ hours and tachograph offences, weighing checks)

As an operator you get points when a test or inspection finds a defect or infringement of the rules. The more serious the defect or infringement, the more points. The operator can be classified as ;

  • R (red - highest risk)
  • A (amber - medium risk)
  • G (green - lowest risk)